Notices

Working from Home and Feeling Terrible About It

Old 08-11-2014, 08:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Working from Home and Feeling Terrible About It

I have a tendency to way overthink things now that I'm seriously focusing on not drinking. (OK well I always overthink things haha.) I've had months at a time of sobriety, practiced some moderation here and there, but I can honestly say the cravings are gone and I'm slowly but surely marching toward not drinking at all. I have not been drinking at all in the past three weeks or so.

Today I woke up feeling kind of panicky (I have panic attacks), tired (insomnia), stomache ache (gastritis) and just CRANKY as hell. I'm a freelancer/contractor working on a pretty slow contract right now. I also have permission to work from home. But still - I agonized for TWO HOURS over whether or not to go into the office.

I elected to stay home, so why can't I just give myself a break? I feel so guilty not going into the office (even though it really doesn't matter at all) and like I did something bad and reminds me of the guilty days of not going to work because I was drinking. This situation is nothing like that but I still can't get over it.

And because of that, I can't get anything done! Just give myself a break, get some work done and enjoy my day. I'm also supposed to meet with a new therapist tomorrow morning, but I already suspect it won't be a good match, and I feel like I should cancel and save the $$ and focus on having a productive day in the office, rather than missing another two hours of "face time" with my client.

Ugh make this brain stop going round and round. I'm paralyzed by this overthinking of everything.
Old 08-11-2014, 09:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)