Finally dealing with feelings about my parents...need help.

Old 07-14-2006, 06:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally dealing with feelings about my parents...need help.

Today is my one month sober mark!! I have been posting a lot on the Newcomer's Forum, but have realized that this is also a good place for me to get some feedback. I am 25, and drank for 10 years (I can't believe it's been that long.) I graduated college with honors, and have always been extremely successful at what I do, drunk or not. For the past month, I have been feeling all of these feelings that I haven't really felt in 10 years. All of a sudden, I have incredible resentment towards both my mother and father. My father was an alcoholic when I was growing up, and my mom recently became addicted. Neither of them were abusive in any way, but I have been thinking for the past week that neither of them really seemed to care when I thought they should have. I went to college 12 hours away from home, set up residence, got all of the money I needed for it on my own, and neither of them even offered to help with any of it. So, for the past week, I have been making a mental list of all of the times my family was not there for me when I needed them, and they were not there. I don't really know what I am looking for here. How do you deal with this? I feel like I can't bring it up to them because they always play the "we did the best we could" card...although they have not changed at all. How do you tell your parents that they should just care more and that they should start acting like the parents, and not the children? Sorry for the long post. I guess I had to vent.
Old 07-14-2006, 08:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the adult children forum, **** Ma.

Many of us started our paths to recovery exactly where you are now: hating our parents and wishing they'd own up to what they did (or didn't do).