Hello - New here

Old 01-24-2010, 12:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello - New here

Hello,

I hope I'm in the right place with this! I'm 22, and my dad is an alcoholic. I just wanted to come on here for some support and advice really.

I still live at home as I'm in my third year of university, and the week before last, my mum and dad had a huge argument which was started by my dad trying to hide a can of beer in the middle of the day. Unfortunately, I suffer really badly with anxiety, so sometimes I can blow my worrying about dad's drinking completely out of proportion and this incident completely set me off. Since this day, I've been sleeping at my bfs house every night, and only going home when absolutely necessary (which is sadly too often, as I have animals and college work at home).

About a week ago, I was leaving the house and saw that my dad was drunk. When I went to say bye, I completely broke down and told him how I felt about his drinking - that it affects me badly, he needs help, it's causing problems etc. He got very upset and promised he'd stop. The main reasons my dad drinks, I think, is because he's alone a lot (my mum works a lot of nights) and he can't deal with his terrible childhood. He stopped for a few days, but I'm pretty sure he's drinking again and hiding it. I've asked him if he has drunk again, but he maintains he hasn't and makes me feel bad for accusing him - he blatantly lies and lies, when I'd appreciate the truth far more. He admitted when drunk that he has a problem, but now maintains that he doesn't and is completely resistant to getting help. He wants 'to do it alone'. He went to an AA meeting years ago and said it wasn't for him.