Chicken or the egg?

Old 12-23-2007, 12:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Chicken or the egg?

I have a couple other postings on this forum, I am new to learning about acoa. I think my boyfriend is acoa. Has anyone who is acoa worked through recovery with the partner they were with when they were working on recovery or did the partner help them realize they were acoa. From reading posts where acoas say they realized they needed to start working on themselves, they get out of their current ralationship. Did any acoas find that after they started working on themselves that their partner was not such a bad person as they thought they were before they started working on themselves? What came first the chicken or the egg? Did the unresolved issues of acoa contribute to the relationship problems or did problems with the relationship cause the acoa behaviors to some to the surface? I don’t know if this even makes sense

I am afraid because I have been recommended to learn about acoa, share this information with my bf. But I am afraid to do this. It seems that many acoa who are confronted with this information from there partner find faults with them. I am afraid to make the emotional effort and then become the bad guy. If I stay in this relationship I can not ignore these acoa behaviors, they are real and hurtful to both of us. By posting this maybe I am hoping to hear a success story where both the acoa and the non acoa worked through recovery and they did not end the relationship.

Christmas is here and I see him pulling away. I do not know how many more special events I usually look forward to will not be a pleasant memory because he is closing me out – again.
Old 12-23-2007, 03:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Progress Not Perfection

Are you, as a couple, going to counseling?
Old 12-24-2007, 10:49 AM
  # 3 (permalink)