Old 05-25-2010, 08:52 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
kelsh

Exclamation Writing a letter to a judge for a sponsee....

In my experience as a Mental Health Counselor I worked with clients that had a mental illness & alcohol problems in which some were involved with the law enforcement.

We had a two year deferred sentencing program connected with the court that included attending AA, Alcohol Counseling, & either an in- or out- patient alcohol treatment program. There also was a School-type group for all drug/alcohol arrests. If they failed to follow through with their treatment plan the deferred was revoked & they either were sentenced to jail or home monitor.

My personal experience didn't involve a DUI or law inforcement...I went to ask for help & got sober & help for my depression at mental health where I did go to work after I finished my BA Degree in Psychology.

But since it hadn't been 5 years since being in an alcohol treatment program or an Emotional Health Locked Unit....I had to go through a lot of requirements from the State Department of Health to be a Licensed Counselor.

I had to have the alcohol tx center write a letter explaining my progress & if I completed the program.

I had to have the Psychiatrist that dx my Depression/Anxiety write a letter to explain my in-patient tx & if I completed it sucessfully.

Then my doctor had to write a letter every three months to explain my follow-up care & if I was following through with it.

My Alcohol Sponsor had to write a note every three months confirming I was still attending three AA Meetings a week.

Then I had to write a review each month of my progress, my goals, & how many AA Meetings I attended that month.

I had no reminders other than what I kept on my calendar but was never late with any of the needed requirements.